Groups and Permissions in Talla: Best Practices

When assigning access to Pages and Roles to Users it away best to follow a minimum permission model.

All Users in Talla are part of the Everyone Group by default. All Pages in Talla by default are viewable to the Everyone Group. It’s common that some pieces of information should not be accessed by everyone.

Sometimes, two different Users should even receive different answers to similar questions based on their level of access or role in your business.

Example

A Support Rep asks Talla, “How do I upgrade an account to Premium?”

You might want Talla to provide step-by-step instructions on how to execute the changes in your systems.

However, if a Customer asks a similar question, “How do I upgrade to Premium?” you might want Talla to provide different direction such as instructing the customer to call a representative to discuss the upgrade, kicking off a Support ticket or a notification in your CRM.

Creating Additional Groups

For content where access should be restricted to certain Talla Users, it is recommended you create a new Group  under User Management. Add relevant Users by selecting them under Add New Member (all users will also remain in Everyone).

Giving Groups Access to Pages

Once additional Groups are configured, identify the content accessible to the Group by assigning Access at the Page level. By default, Pages are accessible to the Everyone Group. Change Access to the ne Group name on Pages that you’d like to be restricted.

Administrators - Organization vs. Group

Organization-level Administrators have the highest level of access in Talla and tend to play a managerial role in the administration of Talla: org-level Admins could be the initial Installer of Talla, the person responsible for provisioning new user access, the overall project manager, etc. We recommend limiting the number of org-level Admins to the minimum possible. Org Admins can:

  • Invite new Talla users
  • Add new Org Admins
  • Add new Groups
  • Modify all content in Talla (see more detail in the chart below)

Group Administrators have the highest tier of access within the Group where they’re named Admin. Within their Groups, Group Admins can:

  • Manage Group membership
  • Modify all content accessible to the Group (see more detail in the chart below)

Action Group Admin Organization Admin
Can invite new users to Talla x
Can add new Organization Admin x
Can add, modify and delete user membership and role in the Everyone group. Only if they are Group Admin in the everyone group
Can add, modify and delete user membership and modify role in any group. Only for Groups where they are Group Admin
Can create and delete groups x
Can create, modify, delete, view, train, restrict access to any page in the Organization. Only those pages that are restricted to the Groups the User is a Group Admin in

Non-Admin Roles

Generally within Talla (the Everyone Group) and, further, within additional Groups, roles can be configured to allow for or limit certain functionality.

Action Viewer Editor Publisher Trainer
Can get answers from Talla
Can view pages
Can create/edit pages
x
Can assign a page to be verified
x
Can be assigned a page to verify
x
Can ask for “Content Request”
x
Can be asked to add Content from chat (“Content Request”)
Can add automation tasks
x
Can add live tables
x
Can create glossary items
x
Can restrict page access by groups
x
Can do Training Suggestions
x
Can train Entities
x
Can do Answer Training
x
Can archive a page
x
Can distribute a page
x
Can respond to assigned Training Requests (Knowledge Gap)
x
Can add content from Chat
x
Can see Training Request nav item
x x x
Can see Response Activity (searches) nav item
x x x x
Can access Response Activity view
x x x x

Best Practices When Configuring Talla

Since Organization-level Administrators have unrestricted access to all Pages in the organization, as well as User/Role configuration, it is recommended that Org-level Administrators be limited to those Users who need to have complete access to the organization. 

Handle content that should be considered highly confidential by creating a new Group that only contains those Users who should access to the confidential information. Set Access on the Pages to only the related Group.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us