Introduction to Groups and Roles in Talla

Depending on roles, divisions, team, product, and many other factors, your colleagues may expect to use Talla in different ways. Talla Admins have the ability to manage these settings under User Management

Groups

Your Talla account starts out by default with one group including every user in your organization. All users in this group, called Everyone, are Editors by default. See role definitions under Roles below. 

As you add additional Groups (imagine a group called Sales, and another called Product, for example), you'll be able to search for and add users. 

Roles

As you add users, assign each one a Role (the 5 Roles are defined below). The same user can have a different Role in various Groups. For example, the Group Admin of the Sales Group may be a Viewer in the Product Group. 

The Viewer Role

Can view pages available to the Group and ask Talla for answers from the content available to the Group.

The Editor Role

In addition to Viewer capabilities, Editors can create, edit, deliver content available to that Group. Can also manage Assigned content and training requests.

The Trainer Role

In addition to Editor permissions, can access Analytics and Training Requests and assign Training Requests to other Trainers or Admins.

Group Admin Role

In addition to Trainer capabilities, can add and remove Group users, assign roles including other Group Admins.

How to modify a user's settings in Talla

In order to modify user settings, you must be a Group Admin for at least one group in Talla. 

  1. Navigate to Settings > Groups & Users
  2. Click on "Everyone" to view the global set of users
  3. Find and click on the desired user
  4. Update Settings accordingly

User Settings Overview

Once you have opened the User Settings sidecar, you can modify a number of permissions for a given user. 

Profile Type Setting

Profile Type allows you to toggle "Org Admin" and "User" status.  

Org Admin status gives a user Group Admin permissions for all groups plus the ability to manage 

User status means that a given user's status will depend on group permissions and role - this will account for the majority of users in your organization.

Status Setting

A profile can be manually disabled here or have their access revoked from the organization's chat platform. A disabled profile loses access to the Talla web app and messages.

Groups Setting

Group Admins and Org Admins are the only users that can modify the profile's role within their corresponding group(s).  

Notifications Setting

Trainers can choose to mute notifications from their profile settings. Organization admins can also modify this for other users as well as route notifications exclusively to e-mail.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us